Saturday, April 30, 2011

On-Line Versus Print: The U.S.C.A.

Why would you ever want to use print copies of the U.S. Code when Westlaw and Lexis are so easy and convenient? Sometimes the finding tools in the print statutes are the better option.

Thursday, April 28, 2011

David Foster Wallace, Zen, and the Internal Revenue Code

The drama of this year’s tax day is two weeks behind us, and unless they filled for an extension, most people don’t give a thought to income taxes under the following year’s April 15th (or 16th, 17th, or, as this year, 18th) is looming in the near future. Most people besides, of course, IRS agents and cutting-edge popular-darling “post-post-modernist” writers who’ve been dead for three years.

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Library of Congress Twitter Feed

The Law Library of Congress has announced its newest Twitter account: @THOMASdotgov

The @THOMASdotgov account will provide alerts on updates, bills being considered on the floor of Congress, and will serve as a venue for feedback on To read more about it, see our In Custodia Legis blog post

In addition to the @THOMASdotgov Twitter account, the Law Library can also be found on:

- In Custodia Legis blog:

- Twitter:

- iTunes U:

- Facebook:

- YouTube:

(Information via Emily Carr, Senior Legal Research Specialist, Law Library of Congress)

Friday, April 15, 2011

Finals Hours for the Law Library

the Loyola New Orleans Law Library will be open extended hours beginning April 15th as follows:

Friday, April 15 :        7:30 am – 12:00 am

Saturday, April 16 :    9:00 am – 12:00 am

Sunday, April 17 :      10:00 am – 12:00 am

Monday April 18 – Thursday, April 21:        7:30 am – 12:00 am

Friday, April 22 :        CLOSED

Saturday, April 23 :    CLOSED

Sunday, April 24 :      12:00 pm – 11:00 pm

Monday, April 25 - Thursday, May 5 :         7:30 am – 1:00 am

Friday, May 6 :          7:30 am – 9:00 pm

Saturday, May 7 :      9:00 am – 10:00 pm

Sunday, May 8 :         10:00 am – 11:00 pm

Monday, May 9 :       7:30 am – 12:00 am

Tuesday, May 10 :     7:30 am – 12:00 am

Wednesday, May 11 – Saturday, May 28
                INTERIM SCHEDULE

Monday – Thursday  8:30 am – 6:00 pm
Friday                         8:30 am -  5:00 pm
Saturday                     10:00 am -  6:00 pm
Sunday                        CLOSED

Sunday, May 29 :       10:00 am – 11:00 pm

Monday, May 30 :     7:30 am – 12:00 am


Monday, April 4, 2011

Positive Law Experience

Once passed by Congress and enacted, a piece of legislation is ready to be integrated into the United States Code. That is the function of the Office of the Law Revision Counsel.

For most of my life, there were only 50 titles in the U.S. Code. Just recently, you may have read, a 51st title was added. Well, more are on the way. The Office is working on adding titles 52 through 55. The new titles will be:

Title 52, "Voting and Elections"

Title 53, "Small Business"

Title 54, "National Park System"

Title 55, "Environment"

Be sure to check out these new titles, as well as your old favorites.

Friday, April 1, 2011

Finals Help

Since finals are fast approaching, we would like to remind students that the library has a collection of old finals which they may use in preparation for their exams. We have books of old exams located in the third floor copy room. We have sets of newer exams which may be checked out at the Reserve Desk. Of course, we also have many exams online, available to students through our catalog.

For a very limited time, we will have several professor's upcoming Spring 2011 exams available at the Circulation Desk, along with sample answers.