Monday, December 19, 2011

Today in 1991: Mardi Gras Krewes Desegregated

Twenty years ago today, the New Orleans City Council passed an ordinance that requires each Mardi Gras Krewe to provide an affidavit that they have:

[N]o written or unwritten provision in its charter, bylaws, rules, regulations or policies which call for the refusal, withholding or denying of membership, or any of the services, accommodations, advantages, facilities or privilege offered by the respondent to members or others, because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sexual orientation or ancestry...New Orleans City Code 34-3.

Thursday, December 8, 2011

CALI Lessons and Reviewing for Final Exams

If, now, at the end of the semester, you are scrambling for some additional materials to review and you’re thinking about using CALI Lessons, realize that thousands of students around the country may be having the same idea.

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

ABA Journal Blawg 100

It is now time for the ABA to seek votes for the ABA Journal Blawg 100. If you are reading this blog you are obviously not opposed to reading blogs and there are lots of interesting legal based ones out there.

What I like about this process that the ABA Journal goes through is you not only get to see the results but lots of contenders so there might be something that interest you that could get trimmed BUT you still can find out about those possibilities in this process (see the blog directory for the master list of possibles).

Finals / Holiday Hours

A quick note to reflect what our hours are this Finals and Holiday season

Sunday, December 4 - Sunday, December 18
7:30 a.m. - 1:00 a.m.

Monday, December 19
7:30 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Tuesday, December 20 & Wednesday, December 21
8:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Thursday, December 22 - Sunday, January 1

Monday, January 2 - Thursday, January 5
8:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Friday, January 6
8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Saturday, January 7
10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 8
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m. -- Resume normal hours