Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Some New Online Titles

This week the library agreed with CCH to add the Elder Law Library to our Intelliconnect holdings. Hopefully you all are familiar with Intelliconnect (the CCH portal to their resources) which is linked at . For those not familiar with Intelliconnect initial login/signup needs to occur on campus, you create an individual login for yourself and then you can take that login and use on or off campus and you can build your own favorite libraries, etc.

Titles in the Elder Law Library (under the Family & Elder Law Dropdown Menu or type in the search box at the top)
  • Representing the Elderly Client - The Elderlaw Portfolio Series
  • Elder Law Answer Book
  • Right to Die: the Law of End of Life Decisionmaking
  • ElderLaw Forms Manual
  • The ElderLaw Report
  • Special Needs Trusts Handbook
  • Loring and Rounds: A Trustee’s Handbook
(under the Healthcare Compliance & Reimbursement Dropdown Menu or type in the search box at the top)
  • Medicare Handbook
  • Social Security and Medicare Answer Book

Monday, November 10, 2014

Purchased because of several requests we now have the latest edition of Emily Post's Etiquette on reserve. Please go to the Circulation Desk to check it out.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Audio CD's Available for Check Out

The Law Library has a small collection of Audio CD's you can check out from the Circulation Desk. The Sum & Substance series of CD's (Property, Contracts, Con Law, Crim. Law, Crim. Pro and Federal Income Tax) are lectures in an audio format that are great for learning on the commute, walking Audubon Park or riding your bike.

Monday, November 3, 2014

Extended Hours Start Tomorrow, November 4th

A quick reminder that the Law Library Extended Hours start tomorrow; that's right we are open till 1:00 am school nights and later than normal on Fri/Sat for you to get all that worrying and 3-2-1 studying in.

Monday, October 27, 2014

Fuel for Finals Week

The law library is excited to present Fuel for Finals week November 11-13 helped out by our three major database vendors.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Expansion of Library Hours

After assessing the result of the recent SBA survey regarding library hours the Loyola Law Library is going to expand its regular hours to the following:

Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Sunday: 10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.

We thank all of you who responded to the survey and hope you are able to enjoy our expanded hours. This change will begin starting this Friday, September 12th.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

New Large Study Room and More

Following up on last weeks post of 3 new individual study carrels we are also announcing the offering of a new large study room, 317B. This room has 6 chairs and can hold even more if chairs are brought in from the outside. This room checks out like all the other law library study rooms.

Additionally, there are now 3 more individual study carrels available to students. This brings the total of new individual study carrels this semester to 6. There is no need for a key for these carrels and no reservation system. These new carrels are on the St. Charles Avenue end of the library and are numbered 317L, 317M, and 317R.

Monday, September 1, 2014

3 new individual study carrels

At the law library we are always trying to bring new and better resources to students. We are proud that we not have 3 "new" individual study carrels available for student use. They are numbered 317J, 317T, and 317U. These rooms are on the 3rd floor of the law library on the end closest to St. Charles Avenue.

There is no need for a key to use these rooms and no reservation system. This open study room concept also means that you should not leave your materials unattended for very long in these carrels. If library staff believe someone is "squatting" in the carrel the materials will be removed and kept at the circulation desk.

Friday, May 9, 2014

Summer Hours

Times for Summer Hours in the Law Library (starting tomorrow, May 10th)
Monday - Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday: 11:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Sunday: 11:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Planned Closures: May 10, 11, 17, 24; June 15, 29; July 4, 5, 26, 27

Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Monroe Library Easter Schedule

Since quite a few of our law students also use the Monroe Library on the main Loyola campus we want to provide their Easter Break schedule as well:

Saturday, April 12: 11 am – 6 pm
Sunday, April 13: 11 am –  6 pm
Monday, April 14- Thursday, April 17: 8 am – 6 pm
Friday, April 18 – Sunday, April 20: Closed
Monday, April 21: 12 pm – 2 am

Monday, March 24, 2014

Extended Study Hours - Spring Semester 2014

The Law Library will begin Extended Study Hours on Sunday, April 6, 2014. These hours are:

· Sunday: Noon – 1:00 a.m.
· Monday – Thursday: 7:30 a.m. – 1:00 a.m.
· Friday: 7:30 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.
· Saturday: 10:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m.

The only planned exception to this schedule is Easter Sunday, April 20th, and the hours that day will be Noon – 8:00 p.m. The library will end Extended Study Hours on the evening of May 6th at 10:00 p.m.

Thursday, February 27, 2014

Race Judicata

Just a quick note of an SBA event the library enjoys promoting:

This year’s Race Judicata is on Saturday, March 8 at Audubon Park. If you are interested in running/walking that day, or interested in volunteering, please stop by the table in the BAC from 12-2 and 5-6 this Mon.-Thurs, and the Weds. and Thurs. after Mardi Gras. Loyola students receive a discounted entry rate, so don’t sign up online!

Questions? Contact Chris!

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Loyola New Orleans College of Law Mardi Gras History

In commemoration of the College of Law’s centennial, and with the carnival season at hand, the Law Library currently has on exhibit “Loyola University New Orleans College of Law Mardi Gras Traditions Over the Years”. Stop by the circulation desk to browse articles and photographs of the Mardi Gras celebration that the law school held each year starting in 1977. The tradition faded in the late 1990s, but with today’s parade, hopefully we will renew our annual Mardi Gras tradition.

And here’s an online version of the Powerpoint display running in conjunction with the exhibit:

Happy Mardi Gras!

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Mardi Gras Closure

The Loyola Law Library will be closed March 1st - 4th in observance of Mardi Gras. We will reopen March 5th at 7:30 a.m.

Monday, February 24, 2014

New Cables and Adapters

The library has added to its collection several new cables and adapters to assist students and faculty who are working with different forms of media or projectors. These items may be checked out at the Circulation Desk.

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

Law Library Opens at 9 A.M. this Sunday

The Law Library will open at 9:00 a.m. this Sunday morning, February 23, 2014 for any bar takers or students who need additional study time.

Thursday, January 30, 2014

Mitch Landrieu & 1984 Loyola Moot Court Tem

From the archives of the old Loyola Law School newspaper, The Code, comes this picture:

That’s from the October 1984 issue of The Code. Young “Mitchell Landrieu” would, of course, grow up to become the Mayor of New Orleans.

Election day is Saturday: Go Vote!

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Law Library Spring Hours

The Law Library will be open in accordance with the following regular schedule: Monday – Thursday 7:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m. Friday 7:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. Saturday 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. Sunday 12:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m. Planned exceptions to the regular schedule are as follows: Sunday, January 19 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday – Library CLOSED Monday, January 20 – Loyola Holiday – (9:00-5:00) Saturday, March 1– Tuesday, March 4 - Mardi Gras Holiday’s - CLOSED Tuesday, April 1 – Extended Finals Hours Begin Sunday, April 20 – Easter (1:00 – 9:00) Monday, April 21 – Resume Extended Finals Hours Saturday, May 10 – Sunday, May 11 – Interim Weekend – CLOSED Monday, May 12 – Friday, May 16 – Interim Hours (9:00-5:00) Saturday, May 17 & Sunday, May 18 – Interim Weekend – CLOSED Monday, May 19 – Friday, May 23 – Interim Hours (9:00-5:00) Saturday, May 24 & Sunday, May 25 – Interim Weekend - CLOSED Monday, May 26 – Summer hours begin (TBA)